How We Work

Our Approach

At 14km we understand that there are many individuals and organisations with innovative ideas for co-operations between Europe and North Africa that could benefit their communities. However, many of these individuals and organisations are currently unable to develop them – because they either lack financial or practical support, they do not have the right partners on the respective “other side”, or they simply don’t have the confidence to put their ideas into action. This is where we come in, helping innovative concepts become reality – either by partnering in the development and organisation of projects, of by facilitating contacts within the broad range of our network.

 

We like to support and realise good ideas between North Africa and Europe that

  • serve intercultural understanding and learning,
  • promote socio-economic and (development)political justice,
  • correspond with the needs and wishes of the target communities
  • and are sustainable.

 

At 14km, we invest in people – and are open to your ideas

 

Management Style

Our working structure is horizontal and personal – each member participates according to his or her interests, capacity and time in the work of 14km. Relevant networks constitute and activate themselves organically depending on the needs of the respective concepts and activities to be developed and undertaken.
Based on our values, 14km management is characterized by a slim and transparent structure. We keep office space minimal, encourage staff, volunteers and members to work flexibly and use modern communication tools to connect and work together. An effective and efficient organisation needs good structures and management processes – with this in mind, our objective is to minimise administrative costs where possible and to allocate the highest percentage possible of our resources and funds to projects.

|
©2013

Wie wir arbeiten

Unser Ansatz

Wir von 14km e.V. glauben, dass viele Organisationen und Personen ihre Gesellschaften durch kreative Ideen für Kooperationen zwischen Europa und Nordafrika/dem Nahen Osten bereichern können. Oft ist es diesen Personen und Organisationen aber nicht möglich, fruchtbare Kontakte zu entwickeln oder ihre Ideen umzusetzen. Hier wollen wir gerne helfen, indem wir als Partner Projekte organisieren und auf den Weg bringen oder Kontakte aus unserem großen Netzwerk vermitteln. Wir unterstützen und verwirklichen gute Ideen zwischen Europa und Nordafrika/dem Nahen Osten, die

  • interkulturellem Verständnis und Austausch dienen,

  • sozio-ökonomische und (entwicklungs-)politische Gerechtigkeit fördern,

  • mit dem Bedarf und den Wünschen der Zielgruppen übereinstimmen und

  • möglichst nachhaltig sind.

 

Arbeitsweise

14km zeichnet sich durch flache Hierarchien und eine persönliche Arbeitsweise aus. Dabei kann sich jedes Mitglied nach eigener Kraft und Zeit im Verein einbringen. Relevante Netzwerke kommen je nach Projekten und Konzepten zum Einsatz. Wir ermöglichen unseren Mitarbeiter/innen, Freiwilligen und Mitgliedern eine flexible Arbeitsweise, halten Büroraum möglichst gering, und nutzen intensiv moderne Kommunikationsmedien, um uns zu vernetzen und miteinander zu arbeiten.

Eine effektive und effiziente Organisation braucht gute Strukturen und Verwaltungsprozesse, und darauf achten wir. Gleichzeitig bemühen wir uns jedoch, unsere Verwaltungskosten so gering wie möglich zu halten und den größtmöglichen Anteil unserer Gelder in unsere Projekte fließen zu lassen.

 

|
©2013